Council of Reference

The Council of Reference  is a group of individuals who support Aberdeen Passion Plays’ ethos, aims and objectives, and are willing to be publicly recognised as providing ‘reputational sponsorship’ for the project. Members of the Council also give occasional advice and encouragement as they are able to. Some members are able to provide more input than others due to their commitments; however, together the Council brings a broad perspective to the work of Aberdeen Passion Plays which is invaluable. It is also the members of the Council of Reference who provide the main theological sounding board for aspects of each production as well the final theological proofing of the scripts. Members are currently drawn from within the Christian community both locally and nationwide and we seek to ensure the interdenominational nature of the project is reflected in the membership of the Council. We have deliberately set no limit on the number of members of the council as we believe that God will raise new members as and when we need them and so artificially capping the group could limit His moving through it.

We are currently endorsed by the following individuals who form our Council of Reference:

  • Dr Andrew D. Clarke, Senior Lecturer in New Testament, University of Aberdeen
  • Pastor Iain Duthie, Senior Pastor, Kings Community Church, Aberdeen
  • Rev John Greenshields, Ministry Development Coordinator, Baptist Union of Scotland
  • Fr Keith Herrera, St Mary’s Cathedral, Aberdeen
  • Jason McAuley, Artistic Director, New Scottish Arts
  • Rev Eddie McKenna, South St Nicholas Kincorth Church of Scotland, Aberdeen
  • Rev Jarod Meenan, Bridge of Don Baptist Church, Aberdeen
  • Rev Manson Merchant, Dyce Parish Church, Aberdeen
  • Rev Gary Smith, Crown Terrace Baptist Church, Aberdeen
  • Ian White, International Singer/Song Writer